Log in

Log in

Illinois Solar Education Association Board of Directors & Staff


Lesley McCain

Executive Director

Prior to accepting the position as Executive Director of the Illinois Solar Energy Association, Lesley served on the ISEA board from September 2009 until April 2012. As a board member she was Chair of Marketing Committee. Lesley previously worked for Community Energy Inc.(CEI) as the Midwest Director of Business Development. She started with CEI in 2005 as the Residential Program Manager for the award winning City of Naperville Renewable Energy Program, and in 2006 added corporate and industrial sales to her responsibilities. Lesley also serves on the board of the Illinois Environmental Council. She is grateful to have the opportunity to use her personal energy to help with the transition to the clean energy economy.

Nicola Brown

Program Manager

Nicola has been working in communications and administration in the nonprofit sector for eight years, after graduating from the University of Chicago with a degree in English Literature. She is very passionate about renewable energy and is proud to help push Illinois towards a sustainable future.

Board of Directors - Officers:

Jennifer Martin

Previously Vice President; serving since 2021, term ends January 2024

As the Director of Standards Development for Solar Energy Industries Association, Jennifer creates and publishes certification standards, best practices, and guidelines for the solar and energy storage industries. These efforts are designed to demonstrate that solar equipment has been ethically, sustainably, and responsibly sourced, manufactured, transported, installed, operated, decommissioned, and recycled with a level of quality that ensures its service life in a manner that reflects the values of the clean energy economy. Her professional career also includes a wide range of experiences developing and evaluating programs on energy and conservation with training organizations and community colleges across the Midwest.

Peter Gorr

Vice President

Serving since 2021, term ends January 2024; previously served on Energy Board from 2014-2015

Peter Gorr is a lifetime member of ISEA and served on the Board of Directors from 2014 through 2015 . His experience with solar energy dates back to 2011 with the installation of his first of 2 home installations. He is one of the original Solar Ambassadors and serves on the Committee overseeing the program. He is a retired Director of Global Marketing and Product Management with an MBA from the University of Chicago. He is an active member and leader in several environmental organizations, most notably the IL Chapter of the Sierra Club where he has served on the State Executive Committee and is currently Vice Chair of the Executive Committee of the NW Cook County Group.

Froilan Nuñez


Serving since 2023, term ends January 2025; Previously on Illinois Solar Education Board

Froilan Nuñez is the Accounting Manager at Calumet Area Industrial Commission in Chicago. There, he oversees all the accounting, budgeting and cost allocations for various workforce and economic development contracts as well as the overall fiscal reporting for the organization. Previously, he was a Project Manager at Hispanic American Construction Industry Association (HACIA) in Chicago. There, he oversaw a training contract between HACIA and ComEd that was funded through the Future Energy Jobs Act (FEJA). This program trained over 70 small contractors in Business Management, Workplace Safety and Fundamentals in Photovoltaic. Through this program, a mix of diverse contractors are able to become certified in OSHA 10, EPA RRP, and NABCEP PV Associate. He has 20 years of non-profit experience. His education is in Accounting at Chicago State University. Froilan currently volunteers at SkyART and is Treasurer of its board of directors. In his personal time he enjoys playing 16 inch softball, running, and swimming.

Neil Panega


Serving since 2021, term ends January 2024

Neil Panega is currently part of commercial solar contractor Simpleray’s operations team. He previously worked as the Sustainability and Environmental Social Governance(ESG) Intern at Sherwin Williams HQ Environmental Compliance Department overseeing the progression on global sustainability goals. Neil received a B.S. in Sustainable Business, an interdisciplinary degree incorporating environmental science, financial systems and social mobilization. He has also been part of many organizations, including but not limited to non-profits, benefit corporations, academia, and global corporations.

Past Presidents

Mark Burger
Past President

Served from 2002 - 2012

Mark is Director of Energy Services at Community and Economic Development Association of Cook County, Inc. (CEDA). He has over 25 years experience in renewable energy and energy efficiency. Previously, Mark was Principal Consultant at Kestrel Development Company, providing consulting services on renewable energy policy, technology and market development. He was Sales and Marketing Manager at Spire Solar, a  manufacturing solar electric panels and designing systems. Mark also worked for the U.S. Department of Energy, last heading the Strategic Assistance Team for the Chicago Regional Office. He is a Life Member of the American Solar Energy Society, the ISEA and the Midwest Renewable Energy Association. Mark holds a BS in Alternative Energy from Jordan College of Cedar Springs, Michigan and an MA in Environmental Studies and Urban Geography from the University of Illinois, Chicago.

Anti-Discrimination Statement

The Illinois Solar Energy Association does not discriminate against, nor do we condone the discrimination of any persons based on race, color, national origin, citizenship status, creed, religion, religious affiliation, age, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or veteran status.

The Illinois Solar Energy Association does not condone discrimination of persons’ with disabilities. We support and encourage that all architects, contractors, builders, designers, and all others who influence how a building or space is created that it be made accessible to all persons. We encourage all spaces be created with the implementation of the design recommendations based on Title III in the Americans with Disabilities Act in the Standards for Accessible Design.

For a link to more detailed information regarding the Standards for Accessible Design and the American with Disabilities Act please refer to the following links:

American with Disabilities Act
Standards for Accessible Design



Illinois Solar Energy Association c/o Shamrock Electric
 | 1281 E. Brummel Ave Elk Grove Village, IL 60007

Copyright © 2009 - 2018 Illinois Solar Energy Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software